Diving Into the Wreck

Diving Into the Wreck

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Boss loves to dive historical ships, derelict spacecraft found adrift in the blackness between the stars. Sometimes she salvages for money, but mostly she's an active historian. She wants to know about the past--to experience it firsthand. Once she's dived the ship, she'll either leave it for others to find or file a claim so that she can bring tourists to dive it as well. It's a good life for a tough loner, with more interest in artifacts than people.
Then one day, Boss finds the claim of a lifetime: an enormous spacecraft, incredibly old, and apparently Earth-made. It's impossible for something so old, built in the days before Faster Than Light travel, to have journeyed this far from Earth. It shouldn't be here. It can't be here. And yet, it is. Boss's curiosity is up, and she's determined to investigate. She hires a group of divers to explore the wreck with her, the best team she can assemble. But some secrets are best kept hidden, and the past won't give up its treasures without exacting a price in blood.
Publisher: Amherst, NY : Pyr, c2009
ISBN: 9781591027867
Characteristics: 269 p. ; 23 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Feb 26, 2018

Very interesting concepts, space wrecks and lost technology. The heroine is an odd mix-capable of space travel alone but very unsure of her own persona because of childhood trauma. Nice to humanize science fiction and to make the future understandable by tying it to the past and present. I like the way she writes!

Sammiqat Jul 12, 2012

This is very good straight science fiction, the kind of thing that should appeal to readers of Clarke, Asimov, Heinlein, and Cherryh's Alliance-Union books. It's suspenseful adventure about people and technology in space, with a lot of interesting history providing a background to both the narrator and the world. The prose style can be a bit irritating; the first-person narrator, Boss, tends, to an excessive degree, to address the audience in brusque, partial sentences when building up suspense or general ominousness, and the sustained present-tense voice would put me off after a while if the story weren't so gripping. However, it is.


Add Age Suitability

Jun 27, 2011

bookKITTY thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors


Subject Headings


Find it at BPL

To Top