Tales for A Winter's Night

Tales for A Winter's Night

Downloadable Audiobook - 2001
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"Tales for a winter's night" brings together eight Arthur Conan Doyle mystery classics that originally appeared in the "Strand" magazine between July 1898 and January 1899. When first gathered into one volume in 1908, the book was entitled "Round the fire stories", since the author recommended that they be read ideally "round the fire" upon a winter's night. According to Barzun & Taylor in "A catalogue of crime", "As one reads 'The man with the watches', 'The lost special', 'The Jew's breastplate', 'The black doctor' and the rest, one marvels again at Doyle's natural gift of story-telling and one relishes his ingrained habit of giving clues, even when they serve narrative and are not to be used for ratiocination. The stories are worth reading even around a radiator."
Publisher: [Ashland, Or.] : Blackstone Audiobooks, 2001
ISBN: 9780786135844
Additional Contributors: Sutherland, William.

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at BPL

To Top