The Fourteen Dalai Lamas

The Fourteen Dalai Lamas

A Sacred Legacy of Reincarnation

Book - 2001
Rate this:
The 14th Dalai Lama, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize and spiritual leader of the Tibetans in exile, is well known in the West, but the 600-year tradition to which he is heir is less familiar. In this book, Glenn Mullin offers the life stories of all 14 Dalai Lamas in one volume for the first time. He has also included excerpts from their teachings, poetry, and other writings that illuminate the principles of Tibetan Buddhism. From the birth of the first Dalai Lama in 1391, each subsequent Dalai Lama has been the reincarnation of his predecessor, choosing to take up the burdens of a human life for the benefit of the Tibetan people. For almost six centuries, the Dalai Lamas have served as the Tibetans' spiritual leader and have held secular power for nearly half that time. The Dalai Lamas are revered as incarnations of Avalokiteshvara, the Buddhist embodiment of compassion, but each has been a unique individual with different abilities and temperament.
Publisher: Santa Fe, N.M. : Clear Light Publishers, c2001
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9781574160390
Characteristics: xix, 555 p. : ill. ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Shepherd, Valerie M.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at BPL

To Top