The Glass Rainbow

The Glass Rainbow

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
1
From New York Times bestselling author James Lee Burke, Detective Dave Robicheaux becomes entangled in a mystery that connects a series of grisly murders with an ex-convict turned bestselling author, a notorious local pimp, and the man currently dating Robicheaux's daughter.

On the trail of a killer responsible for the deaths of seven young women in neighboring Jefferson Davis parish, Detective Dave Robicheaux and his best friend Clete Purcel can't seem to stay away from Herman Stanga, a notorious pimp whose name constantly resurfaces in their investigation, and whom both men despise. When Stanga turns up dead shortly after a fierce beating in front of numerous witnesses at the hands of Clete Purcel, the case takes a nasty turn, and solving the mystery of the Jefferson Davis deaths becomes more important than ever.

Adding to Robicheaux's troubles is the matter of his adopted daughter, Alafair, on hiatus from Stanford Law for a semester and home in New Iberia to put the finishing touches on her novel. Her literary pursuit has led her into the arms of Kermit Abelard, celebrated novelist and scion of a once-prominent Louisiana family whose fortunes are slowly sinking into the bayous. In Robicheaux's mind, Abelard's association with a sleazy ex-convict turned bestselling author named Robert Weingart puts him at the center of some very shady business, and Robicheaux fears he's taking Alafair down with him. But at the same time he fears for Alafair's well-being--and possibly her life--she's becoming more distant toward him, convinced his concerns are just the paranoia of an overprotective father. To protect his daughter and clear his best friend's name, Robicheaux will need every ounce of guts, wit, and investigative chops he can muster.

From the creator of "one of America's best mystery series" ( Library Journal, starred review), James Lee Burke's The Glass Rainbow is a "superlative" ( Publishers Weekly, starred review) bayou thriller.
Publisher: Simon & Schuster 2018
ISBN: 9781982100261
1982100265
Characteristics: 448 p.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

e
Eil_1
Feb 01, 2015

Couldn't get into it. Perhaps another time...

j
JOHN HARKIN
Jan 14, 2014

I am a James Lee Burke fan, his poetic descriptions of his area are beautiful, the complete opposite to his characters. In "Glass Rainbow" the characters and their interactions are so vicious and graphic their language and portrayals are hideous, I am sorry but Dave Robicheaux and Clete are not readable for me in this particular book

c
charlie2911
Jun 06, 2012

I've just finished ' The Glass Rainbow' by James Lee Burke and here is another well known and very popular writer about whom I've mixed feelings - loved some of his books but not others. In many books, as in Glass Rainbow, Burke has a rambling, brooding, lyrical style that I personally find tedious. In this book the main characters are Dave Robicheux and family,and the inimitable Clete Purcell. He tends to draw wonderful characters and their actions, but his main plot wanders and introduces many sub-plots almost to the point of confusion (or am I just too picky? ).
The truest review I've heard of this book is from the Miami Herald - -“A novel as dark and brooding as a night deep in the bayou.”

p
Palomino
Jan 21, 2011

Noir hard-boiled P.I. written by a poet.

I don't even believe Louisiana is real place, I think the author makes it all up from his fevered imagination. And, how old did he say Dave Robicheaux is now?

I can't believe the raccoon survived this long!

r
roseymc
Sep 27, 2010

I couldn't wait any longer, so went out and purchased this book. The good news is that some lucky person will move up on the hold list. For fans of Dave and Cletus, it was worth the wait. I have been reading the Robicheaux series for over 10 years and it never disappoints. His descriptions of New Orleans and Louisiana and the characters he meets and the seamy side of life that he is drawn into as a detective, are illuminated by his masterful writing.
I read it in a weekend and was truly sorry it was over so soon. This is his best one yet ......

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top