The End of the World Running Club

The End of the World Running Club

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
3
#1 International Bestseller "A fresh and frighteningly real take on what "the end" might be...quite an exciting and nerve-wracking 'run', with characters you believe in and feel for."-New York Times bestselling author Robert McCammon Perfect for fans of The Martian, this powerful post-apocalyptic thriller pits reluctant father Edgar Hill in a race against time to get back to his wife and children. When the sky begins to fall and he finds himself alone, his best hope is to run ' or risk losing what he loves forever. When the world ends and you find yourself forsaken, every second counts. No one knows this more than Edgar Hill. Stranded on the other side of the country from his wife and children, Ed must push himself across a devastated wasteland to get back to them. With the clock ticking and hundreds of miles between them, his best hope is to run - or risk losing what he loves forever.
Publisher: Naperville : Sourcebooks, 2017
ISBN: 9781492656036
1492656038
1492656038
9781492656043
1492656046
149265602X
9781492656029
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file,rda

Related Resources


Opinion

From Library Staff

List - Dystopiamania
BPLAdultLibrarians Nov 02, 2015

This remarkable debut is the story of an unimpressive, lazy man who is completely unprepared for the end of the world and will do anything, including running, to be reunited with his family.


From the critics


Community Activity

Quotes

Add a Quote

RDPL_AdultFiction Nov 20, 2017

"...we don't grow up; we grow over, like weeds orver new grass."

RDPL_AdultFiction Nov 20, 2017

In the end, I thought, this is how we all end up: running alone through our own wilderness, the landscape of disjointed events that form our lives, with nobody to make sense of it but ourselves. The road is ours, and ours alone."

RDPL_AdultFiction Nov 20, 2017

"...the truth doesn't really have any words of its own. They're not enough, see? Stories work - good stories - because they make you feel something like how the truth would make you feel if you could hear it."

RDPL_AdultFiction Nov 20, 2017

"He realized this resistance was like a shadow, and the darker the shadow was, the brighter the light shone. It was a part of me, and it would always be with me. When it was at its strongest, when things seemed to be at their worst, that's when the brightest hope could be found."

Comment

Add a Comment

m
mrskettle
Apr 15, 2018

I like post-apocalypse fiction that is done well. This one is great and is quite funny at times. Good read.

v
Voodoochick
Jan 22, 2018

Enjoyable story and characters. Believable.

l
LouWSytsma
Nov 11, 2017

Another post-apocalyptic novel but this one sets itself apart from many others with memorable characters. Add sharp insights into human nature and defying some tropes, by taking them head on and subverting them, and Adrian Walker has crafted a superior story.

This is a story with layers that allow readers to imbue the story with their perceptions and invites discussion.

Loved it!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top