DVD - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Set in 1944, a renowned symphony orchestra is touring the concert halls of Europe. In the middle of a performance, Hitler's soldiers attack the city, capturing the musicians and their director, Lionel Evans (Heston). The group is imprisoned in a castle and escape immediate execution because the commanding officer, General Schiller (Schell), has a passion for music. He orders them to prepare a concert for his Nazi comrades, but Evans dreads what will happen when the recital is over. The incomparable Los Angeles Philharmonic performs works by Tchaikovsky, Beethoven, Brahms, Wagner and Schubert in this compelling story.
Not rated.
Publisher: Universal City, CA : Universal Studios Home Entertainment, 2012
Edition: Widescreen
Characteristics: 1 videodisc (106 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at BPL

To Top