The Heresy of Dr Dee

The Heresy of Dr Dee

Being Edited From the Most Private Documents of Dr John Dee, Astrologer and Consultant to Queen Elizabeth

Book - 2012
Rate this:
Tudor intrigue, murder and the dark arts - the second in a stunning and acclaimed historical series starring Dr John Dee, perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom All talk is of the End-time...and the dead are rising. At the end of the sunless summer of 1560, black rumour shrouds the death of the one woman who stands between Lord Robert Dudley and marriage to the young Queen Elizabeth. Did Dudley's wife, Amy, die from an accidental fall in a deserted house, or was it a calculated murder? Even Dr John Dee, astrologer royal, adviser on the Hidden and one of Dudley's oldest friends, is uncertain. Then a rash promise to the Queen sends him to his family's old home on the Welsh Border in pursuit of the Wigmore Shewstone, a crystal credited supernatural properties. With Dee goes Robert Dudley, considered the most hated man in England. They travel with the entourage of a London judge sent to try a sinister Welsh brigand with a legacy dating back to the Battle of Brynglas, in which close to a thousand Englishmen died at the hands of the Welsh. After the battle, many of the bodies were, according to legend, obscenely mutilated. Now, on the same haunted hill, another dead man has been found, similarly slashed. Devious politics, small-town corruption, twisted religion and a brooding superstition leave John Dee isolated in the land of his father...It is suitable for readers of C.J. Sansom, Iain Pears, S.J. Parris and Rory Clements.
Publisher: London : Corvus, 2012
ISBN: 9781848872783
184887278X
9781848872776
1848872771
9780857897701
0857897705
9781848872769
1848872763
Characteristics: 446, 8 pages : 1 map ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top