Orient

Orient

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
8
Rate this:
Suspenseful and haunting, Bollen's thrilling novel Orient is a provocative take on the troubled American dream, in the vein of Lionel Shriver or AM Homes. At the eastern edge of Long Island, far from the hustle of New York City, stands Orient, a village that has been home to a few families for hundreds of years and is now - reluctantly - opening up to wealthy weekenders and artists from the city. On the last day of summer, a young man with a hazy past appears, and, not long after his arrival comes a series of events that shatters the peace in this isolated community. A strange, twisted creature washes ashore on the Sound and, soon after, a human corpse is found floating in the water. An elderly woman dies in bizarre circumstances and a house fire erupts out of nowhere. Fear and suspicion mount until everyone's secrets threaten to be exposed. But who is Mills Chevern? What is his real name and why is he here? As all eyes shift towards the orphan drifter, Mills elicits the support of Beth Shepherd, an Orient native who is hiding a secret of her own. 'A compelling novel of tragic suspense. Bollen has a gift for tightly drawn characters and an ominous sense of place' AM Homes 'A taut and elegant suspense about strangers and strangeness, suspicion and forgiveness, reinvention and confession' Joshua Ferris 'Orient is not as pleasant as it seems, and Bollen will hold you spellbound as he reveals its secrets. A truly well-crafted murder mystery that recalls both PD James and Twin Peaks' Nelson DeMille
Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster UK, 2015
ISBN: 9780062329974
0062329979
9781471136177
1471136175
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
gusmcrae
Jun 22, 2016

Enjoyable literary mystery. I didn't figure out who-done-it. The ending was also surprising--not sure why the author chose to go that direction.

multcolib_karene Jan 07, 2016

intrigue, murders, art, unwanted development, and outsiders with unknown pasts. Oh, and a weird gruesome animal mutant that might have been caused by a nearby biological research lab. And best of all, I didn’t guess the murderer.

s
shapjul
Oct 24, 2015

Having read the reviews I'm feeling somewhat inadequate. this book did nothing to me and I guess I missed the elegant writing. I confess I gave up--so maybe I just didn't go far enough. But for me it had no pull, no interest. It was just flat. Oh well. Everyone to her own taste?

a
anfieldfan
Aug 17, 2015

Really enjoyed this book and it is beautifully written; as usual it could have been a bit shorter but other than that a great read.

f
finn75
Jul 14, 2015

I must admit I never guessed the ending. It kept me reading and waiting for all to come clear and it took awhile. The community and the characters in it were necessary and well drawn but a little less detail could have been helpful.

b
brigpa1
Jul 08, 2015

I tried very hard to get into this but finally quit about a quarter of the way through. Long detailed descriptions of events such as hunting and killing a deer were just too much. I do not understand the long line of holds on this book. The description makes it sound much more interesting that it is.

msmigels Jun 22, 2015

If the prose were less elegant, reading “Orient" would have been very frustrating with its meandering narrative, at a snail’s pace, and not enough happening to justify its 600+ pages. And I never got a sense that the characters were truly invested in what was happening (possibly a result of the languid prose). There never seemed to be any true angst or sense of urgency in their actions or their reactions to events.
One of my pet peeves: Sloppy Mistakes
At the party during a snowy nor’easter we are told that Vince and Isaiah raised an enviable tomato garden. How was that possible if they bought their house only four months earlier.
After the fire at the Muldoon house, Mills is going through Tommy's computer watch. In the next paragraph it's referred to as the phone, but in the paragraph after that we're back to watch.

a
Ankhsenaten
May 12, 2015

Starts a bit slowly, but superbly written, incredible story. Excellently packed with details, observations and plenty of mysteries to ponder about the citizens of Orient and their weaknesses, desires, and their pasts. This is no trashy summer beach read. You won't want to put it down. This writer is top drawer in talent. Best book I've read in years.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top