A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
52
13
2
 …
Rate this:
"Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from stories, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin, a High Lord of the faeries. As her feelings toward him transform from hostility to a firey passion, the threats against the faerie lands grow. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose Tamlin forever"--
Publisher: New York : Bloomsbury, 2015
ISBN: 9781619634459
1619634457
1619634449
9781619634442
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

kirstd31 Sep 11, 2017

A retelling of Beauty and the Beast. The book was okay, not has good as the Throne of Glass series.

r
Ranelle22
Sep 08, 2017

Loved it!!!!

LPL_ColtonS Aug 09, 2017

This is a retelling of the classic story, Beauty and the Beast, set in a land divided in two, between the human realm and the magical world of the Fae. In this dark and thrilling book, rediscover the origins of the curse that haunts the beast, and what Feyre, our “Belle”, must go through to break it. This book is for fans of Fantasy, Magic, Faeries and
Romance.

a
AwesomeNadja
Jul 31, 2017

I always have at least 4 "favorite books" at one time but this utterly fantastic book has been my #1 since the first time I read it. (I've read it about 9 times)

f
fantasybkaddict
Jul 26, 2017

Check out my review at navigatingneverland.org for more details!

Despite my criticisms of the story, I REALLY loved it and can’t wait to read the next one. I hope this one’s faults improve in the next two books. The plot was entertaining, the world building was spectacular, the characters were mostly well developed and interesting, and I loved the writing! With the descriptive sex scenes, etc. I highly recommend this for much more mature young adults.

PimaLib_ChristineR Jul 20, 2017

Maas builds a beautiful world. The detail she puts in to explaining the wall between the faerie realm and the human world is well-thought out and helps us understand why Feyre is so terrified of everything and everyone in the faerie realm, even as they show her every kindness. She is taken from her starving family living in a two room hut, to a palace beyond her dreams, but she never seems grateful, even when she learns her family has been taken care of.

Then there's the fact that she does exactly what anyone asks her not to do, often at the risk of their lives and limbs to come to her rescue. So, not to put too fine a point on it, Maas has built a wonderful world and a terribly annoying heroine. In fact, there wouldn't be a second half to the book if she would think for a moment and be honest about her love for the faerie lord, Tamlin.

But of course, we must have a second part of the book. It's nice to see Feyre actually realize truths about her family when they are thrust in front of her. Nice to see her show some appreciation for someone, and to realize that she needs to do the right thing, but then....

Back she goes, into faerie, and while Tamlin doesn't play a large part, the lord of one of the other courts does. Rhys does everything to save Feyre, and once again, she can't see past the end of her own nose. It's a good thing she's tough, because she's certainly not wily or wise.

If you can deal with Feyre, and her very, very slowly overcoming her assumptions and blindness to nearly everything around her, you should enjoy this book. I know that I'll be reading on to the next one, hoping she continues to grow, even if it causes her some new problems, because Maas has that steamy writing down too!

l
lyla786
Jul 13, 2017

I loved this book! It was recommended to me by many friends, and so I thought I'd give it a go, and now I am addicted to the series! Going to read the other two books in the series. ♡

a
Ashley_qin
Jul 12, 2017

Ever wanted to stab someone through a book? well that's how ,much i hate tamlin. Good book though

k
karen_qin
Jul 12, 2017

One of my new favourite books. I recommend it to grade fives and up.

m
mleoky
May 28, 2017

A good teen read particularly younger teens 12-16. The writting is simple but decent enough to enjoy though I wouldn't recommend it to most adults. The world the author creates and the characters are quite compelling. I understand there is an interesting plot twist in the subsequent novels of this trilogy and that the heroine becomes a "bad-ass" so, though it wasn't an amazing novel to read, it was interesting enough and I'm intrigued enough to try the second book.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

o
oso225
Jul 31, 2017

oso225 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

g
green_monkey_3193
Jun 24, 2017

green_monkey_3193 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 10 and 21

n
NightWolf_9
Feb 28, 2017

NightWolf_9 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

t
Trumpet_King
Jan 12, 2017

Trumpet_King thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

w
white_horse_641
Jan 08, 2017

white_horse_641 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

b
blue_wombat_54
Dec 28, 2016

blue_wombat_54 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 20

k
karensw5
Oct 03, 2016

karensw5 thinks this title is suitable for 21 years and over

m
maddy2418
Aug 18, 2016

maddy2418 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Rachel AnnMarie Vermeulen thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

a
a_c
Apr 03, 2016

a_c thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

View All Ages

Notices

Add Notices

c
CrimsonForests45
Jul 30, 2017

Sexual Content: Tamlin kisses Feyre's breasts and the inside of her thigh, bites her neck, and grabs her breast. They are naked together and do have sex, though that is not described graphically at all. Feyre mentions that she had recreational sex with a boy from her town.

GCPL_Teen Jul 23, 2017

Sexual Content: Explicit Sexual Content

Summary

Add a Summary

n
nnkm13
Jun 28, 2016

If you thought this was good wait till you read the second one, A Court of Mist and Fury. I am hooked on this series like I was with Twilight and Hunger Games but MORE! She did such a good job writing this book/series. I can't believe it took me checking it out 3 times and getting past the first chapter till I finally fell for it. ;) kid you not this series is rated #1. I have read over 100 books in the past 2 years an this has been the best! Read it!!

Quotes

Add a Quote

f
Fongpen
Jul 24, 2015

"If it grieves you... I don't think it's absurd at all".
Page 172

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top