Roller Girl

Roller Girl

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
33
7
Rate this:
A graphic novel adventure about a girl who discovers roller derby right as she and her best friend are growing apart.
Publisher: New York, NY : Dial Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) LLC, [2015]
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9780803740167
0803740166
9780525429678
Characteristics: 239 pages : chiefly color illustrations ; 21 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Read and Recommended by Brigid.

A fun and vibrant graphic novel about friendship, determination, courage, and roller derby! Ages 9 and up. - Bernice C.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

y
yanwang219
Oct 01, 2017

Totally awesome! Roller girl Astrid really tries hard. Spoiler: I love the part where she dyes her hair! Thinking about dying my own
The roller name asteroid really suits her! Ps who can tell me who is jack Hugh man?!

Mark_Daly Aug 14, 2017

Totally awesome empowering tween fiction. The story offers a satisfying and realistic blend of risk-taking and roiling emotion, while still remaining in a cocoon of supportive family and adults. Should be read by kids and parents alike.

c
catenhoope
Jul 29, 2017

it was a great book! loved it!

z
Zoob9
Jul 12, 2017

I love how Astrid Always looked up to rainbow bite like an older sister and how Rainbow bite looked to her as a younger sister. I also liked how at the end they both wanted each others autographs.

GCPL_Teen Jun 27, 2017

This graphic novel realistically depicts the challenges of maintaining friendships as you grow and change.

b
breezybaby101
Jun 21, 2017

This was AMAZING!!! if anyone was looking for a book, i would definitely recommend Roller Girl. This book made me laugh and made me want to flip the page to see what was coming next. Loved It!

b
Bellabook
Jun 14, 2017

It was a good book but there was a lot of bullying. 😕

VaughanPLBecca Feb 25, 2017

Loved this. This little gem is spot-on with the uncertainty and changing nature of tween friendships. Perfect for fans of "Smile" and "El Deafo".

LPL_MeredithW Feb 14, 2017

LOVED LOVED LOVED this smart, funny, thoughtful graphic novel about falling in love with roller derby. Highly recommended for literally everyone!

t
Tess1144
Sep 23, 2016

Astrid spends a summer at a roller derby camp. Barely able to even skate, much less stop, Astrid has a long way to go before she is ready for her first bout. But her struggles with both old and new friends, and conflict with her protective mother complicate things along the way. If you are not already a fan of roller derby, you will be before you finish this great book!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

b
black_dolphin_108
Oct 23, 2017

black_dolphin_108 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 10 and 19

y
yanwang219
Oct 01, 2017

yanwang219 thinks this title is suitable for 7 years and over

CorteMaderaStaff_Judi thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 12

b
black_cheetah_1241
Nov 13, 2016

black_cheetah_1241 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

i
indigo_cat_1063
Aug 03, 2016

indigo_cat_1063 thinks this title is suitable for 7 years and over

PimaLib_BeccaB May 08, 2015

PimaLib_BeccaB thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 7 and 17

violet_elephant_605 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 10 and 11

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top