Humboldt

Humboldt

Life on America's Marijuana Frontier

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
In the vein of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and Deborah Feldman's Unorthodox, journalist Emily Brady journeys into a secretive subculture--one that marijuana built.

Humboldt: Life on America's Marijuana Frontier

Say the words "Humboldt County" to a stranger and you might receive a knowing grin. The name is infamous, and yet the place, and its inhabitants, have been nearly impenetrable. Until now.

Humboldt is a narrative exploration of an insular community in Northern California, which for nearly 40 years has existed primarily on the cultivation and sale of marijuana. It's a place where business is done with thick wads of cash and savings are buried in the backyard. In Humboldt County, marijuana supports everything from fire departments to schools, but it comes with a heavy price. As legalization looms, the community stands at a crossroads and its inhabitants are deeply divided on the issue--some want to claim their rightful heritage as master growers and have their livelihood legitimized, others want to continue reaping the inflated profits of the black market.

Emily Brady spent a year living with the highly secretive residents of Humboldt County, and her cast of eccentric, intimately drawn characters take us into a fascinating, alternate universe. It's the story of a small town that became dependent on a forbidden plant, and of how everything is changing as marijuana goes mainstream.
Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Grand Central Publishing, 2013
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9781455506767
1455506761
Characteristics: xi, 260 p. : map ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

PimaLib_MaryG Jun 26, 2017

A fascinating look at the pot industry in Humboldt county through the stories of four individuals - a sheriff enforcing a law he doesn't believe in, an aging hippie growing "stinky pinky" in her back yard, a daughter who left the family business behind, and a heavily armed indoor grower.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top